APSRTC Tirupati Package: Fares, Routes & Darshan
APSRTC Tirupati Package: Fares, Routes & Darshan
Key takeaways
- Reseller pages show APSRTC Tirupati package fares from about Rs 1,750 (Chennai) to Rs 5,500 (Hyderabad); none is an official fare.
- Resellers say a Rs 300 darshan ticket is included, but Nov 2024 reports say TTD cancelled quotas for state tourism corporations, with Hans India saying APSRTC-operated ones were probably covered.
- We found no later report restoring the quota; APSRTC's own site shows no package terms.
- Confirm the darshan type, running dates and refund terms with APSRTC in writing before paying.
- Book the Rs 300 ticket only on TTD's official portal, or collect a free SSD token in Tirupati.
The APSRTC Tirupati package is a state-bus tour from cities such as Chennai, Bengaluru and Hyderabad. Reseller pages we saw on 5 October 2026 show fares from about Rs 1,750 to Rs 5,500, but their claim that a Rs 300 Special Entry Darshan ticket is included conflicts with TTD's November 2024 decision on tourism quotas. Confirm the darshan type with APSRTC before paying.
We are an independent guide, not APSRTC, not TTD and not a tour operator, and we do not sell TTD tickets. The official APSRTC booking page we opened shows no package terms, so every fare below comes from a reseller or agent page and is marked as such. If you only want the darshan side of the trip, start with our TTD darshan booking guide.
What the APSRTC Tirupati package is
An APSRTC Tirupati package, as resellers describe it, bundles a bus seat from your city to Tirupati with a day in Tirumala, and usually a darshan ticket, meals and a short rest stop. The buses are described as AC semi-sleeper coaches. APSRTC's own booking homepage lists Tirupati among popular routes, including Tirupati-Chennai, Hyderabad-Tirupati, Bengaluru-Tirupati and Vijayawada-Tirupati, and it promotes a 10 percent round-trip discount and a 24-hour helpline. It does not show the terms of a tour package.
The official terms of the package, such as what is included, the days it runs and the refund rules, are DATA UNAVAILABLE to us, so any detail below is what a third party says. Tirumala is the hill town that holds the Venkateswara Temple, and Tirupati is the city at the foot of the hill.
Routes and fares seen on reseller pages
The table lists what we found. None of these pages is the operator, none is dated, and none proves that a bus runs on a given day, so read the fares as indicators, not as prices you can book.
| Origin | Fare seen | Source type | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chennai | About Rs 1,750 (AC semi-sleeper) | Reseller search snippet | Another reseller page says departure from T. Nagar at 5:00 am and lists 9:00 pm as the arrival time |
| Not specified | About Rs 1,950 | Reseller search snippet | Route not stated |
| Bengaluru | Rs 2,760 adult; Rs 2,460 child (3-10 years) | Agent page (BestBus) | Departs 6:00 am, leaves Tirupati about 5:00 pm, drop about 10:30 pm |
| Hyderabad | About Rs 5,500 | Reseller search snippet | Low confidence; one page lists a one-hour freshen-up room |
The Bengaluru listing is the most detailed. It lists one breakfast, one lunch, a freshen-up room, toll, one free laddu and a "special darshan ticket" without saying which type. Another reseller describes the Bengaluru and Hyderabad packages as including a freshen-up room on a twin or triple-sharing basis for about an hour. If you are travelling from Bengaluru, our Bangalore to Tirupati bus guide explains the road options, and our guide to the Tirupati package from Chennai covers the Chennai side.
Fares quoted by agents often depend on the booking channel, the date and the number of travellers, so check the final amount on the booking screen. Child fares are quoted for ages 3 to 10 on the Bengaluru listing only.
How long the day runs
The timings on the listings add up to a long day. The Bengaluru agent page has the bus leaving at 6:00 am and dropping you back at about 10:30 pm, which is 16.5 hours door to door. The Chennai reseller page, from 5:00 am to 9:00 pm, is 16 hours. Both figures are our arithmetic from undated listings, and neither tells you how long you get in Tirumala. If you are travelling with older parents or small children, ask how much of that time is allowed for darshan and whether the bus waits.
A quick cost check for a family
Here is a worked example using the one detailed fare. Two adults and one child aged 3 to 10 from Bengaluru, at the agent's Rs 2,760 per adult and Rs 2,460 per child, come to Rs 7,980 for the bus package. If the package turns out not to include a darshan ticket, the Rs 300 Special Entry Darshan costs Rs 300 per ticket on TTD's portal, so up to Rs 900 more if all three need one; check TTD's rules on children. If the package does include a confirmed darshan, you pay nothing extra, which is exactly why the written confirmation matters.
Is darshan included? What changed in November 2024
Reseller pages describe the APSRTC package as including a Rs 300 Special Entry Darshan ticket. Reports from November 2024 say the Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanams (TTD) stopped giving blocks of those tickets to state tourism corporations. We found no later report that the arrangement was restored, but we also could not read APSRTC's own position, so the safe approach is to ask.
What TTD decided
Deccan Chronicle reported on 19 November 2024 that the TTD board suspended Special Entry Darshan allocations to state tourism corporations, including APTDC, Tamil Nadu's TTDC, Karnataka's KSTDC and Telangana's TSTDC, which had previously received about 4,000 tickets a day. The reason given was ticket diversion and the black market. Hans India reported on 20 November 2024 that TTD cancelled the darshan quota for state tourism development corporations, which it said probably included those operated by APSRTC (the report hedges on this), and that TTD chairman Bollineni Rajagopal Naidu said the temple trust exists for pilgrims rather than tourists. The Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanams was established in 1932, and Wikipedia lists the Special Entry Darshan price as Rs 300.
| Source | Date | Statement |
|---|---|---|
| Deccan Chronicle | 19 Nov 2024 | TTD board suspends Special Entry Darshan allocations to state tourism corporations (previously about 4,000 a day), citing misuse |
| Hans India | 20 Nov 2024 | Quota for state tourism corporations reported cancelled, "probably" including APSRTC-operated ones; chairman says TTD serves pilgrims, not tourists |
| Reseller pages (undated) | Seen 5 Oct 2026 | Still describe a Rs 300 darshan ticket as part of the APSRTC package |
| APSRTC official booking site | Opened 5 Oct 2026 | No package terms shown; DATA UNAVAILABLE |
What resellers still say
Reseller pages may be repeating old text. We cannot say whether an APSRTC package today includes Rs 300 darshan, a different darshan type or none. We can say that the claim conflicts with the 2024 reports and that no source we read confirms it for 2026. Treat the darshan line in any package description as unconfirmed until APSRTC says it in writing. Do not assume Rs 300 is included.
How to confirm and book safely
A few questions put to APSRTC itself settle most of the doubt. Use the helpline listed on APSRTC's official booking site and the booking page itself, and avoid paying a reseller who cannot show you the operator's terms. We do not publish phone numbers for the operator or for resellers.
Checklist before paying
| Ask or check | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| Which darshan type is included, if any? | The Rs 300 ticket, a free slotted token or nothing, as the 2024 decision may have changed the package |
| On which dates does the package run? | Reseller pages do not prove a bus runs on your date |
| What are the refund and change terms? | Plans change when darshan or travel dates move |
| Are meals, toll and the freshen-up room included? | Listings differ between resellers |
| Who is the seller? | APSRTC's own booking site, or a reseller adding a margin |
| Is the reply in writing? | An email or booking-page line is your proof |
If the answer is "darshan not included"
That is not a reason to drop the bus package; it only changes the order of your planning. First fix the darshan: reserve the Rs 300 ticket on the official portal for a date you can keep, or decide that you will collect a free SSD token in Tirupati, which has its own collection rules, covered in our comparison guide. Then book the bus to fit that slot. Doing it the other way round, buying the bus first and hoping for a ticket, is how pilgrims end up with a seat and no darshan. Keep screenshots of every confirmation, and carry the ID that the ticket or token requires.
How to read a reseller listing
These are simple red flags, drawn from what the listings above do and do not say.
| If the listing says | Check this |
|---|---|
| "Rs 300 darshan ticket included" | Whether APSRTC confirms it for your date, given the Nov 2024 reports |
| "Special darshan ticket" with no type | Which ticket it is and who issues it |
| A fare with no date | The fare on the operator's booking page today |
| No operator terms or refund policy | Do not pay until you have them in writing |
| Only a phone number to book | Whether the seller is APSRTC or a reseller |
What to book separately
If the package does not include a confirmed darshan, book the darshan yourself, and do it before you pay for the bus. The Rs 300 Special Entry Darshan is sold on TTD's official portal, ttdevasthanams.ap.gov.in, and our guide to the TTD Rs 300 ticket online booking explains how it works. Slotted Sarva Darshan, or SSD, is a free token issued in Tirupati, and our SSD vs free darshan comparison sets it beside the paid ticket.
Where APSRTC sits among the other operators
The 2024 reports named several corporations, not just APSRTC. This table is a map of who was named, not a fare comparison.
| Operator | Named in the Nov 2024 reports | Our guide |
|---|---|---|
| APSRTC | Hans India | This page |
| APTDC (Andhra Pradesh Tourism) | Deccan Chronicle | Covered in our APTDC package guide |
| Telangana Tourism | Deccan Chronicle | See our Hyderabad package guide |
| KSTDC (Karnataka) | Deccan Chronicle | KSTDC Tirupati package guide |
Other state tourism packages face the same question. Our guide to the KSTDC Tirupati package looks at the Karnataka operator, which names Sarva Darshan rather than the Rs 300 ticket. If you want help planning the darshan side of your Tirumala trip, contact us.
Frequently asked questions
Does the APSRTC Tirupati package include Rs 300 darshan?
Do not assume so. Reseller pages say it does, but Deccan Chronicle and Hans India reported in November 2024 that TTD cancelled its state tourism-corporation quota; Hans India said APSRTC-operated ones were probably included. We found no later report restoring it, so confirm with APSRTC.
How much is the APSRTC Tirupati package from Chennai?
A reseller search snippet showed about Rs 1,750 for an AC semi-sleeper seat on 5 October 2026. It is undated and not an official fare, so check the final price on the booking screen.
How do I book the APSRTC Tirupati package?
Start with APSRTC's own booking website and its helpline, and ask for the package terms in writing. Avoid paying a reseller that cannot show the operator's terms. We do not sell the package or TTD tickets.
Is the APSRTC package the same as the APTDC package?
No. APSRTC is the state road transport corporation, while APTDC is the Andhra Pradesh tourism corporation. APTDC was named in the 2024 reports on TTD tourism quotas and APSRTC was mentioned as probably affected, and their packages and terms differ.
What darshan should I book separately?
If darshan is not confirmed in the package, book the Rs 300 Special Entry Darshan on TTD's official portal, or plan to collect a free Slotted Sarva Darshan token in Tirupati. Book darshan before you pay for the bus.
Need help planning your Tirumala darshan?
Contact usWritten and reviewed by the Tirupati Darshan Booking editorial team. Facts checked against primary sources; see the reference above.